Peter Fragiskatos
Peter Fragiskatos
Member of Parliament for London North Centre
Announcing the 4th Annual London North Centre Honour Roll
October 29, 2020

News Release

For Immediate Release

MP Fragiskatos Announces the 4th Annual London North Centre Honour Roll

Paying tribute to the significant contributions that Londoners make to unite, connect and improve the community in which we live is essential. A city’s success is always rooted in the efforts and generosity of its citizens, which is especially true as we collectively grapple with new challenges brought on by the global pandemic. 

Today, Peter Fragiskatos, Member of Parliament for London North Centre, announced the names of local community champions who will comprise the 4th Annual London North Centre Honour Roll. The following individuals – all of whom have been nominated by fellow citizens – have made significant contributions to the London community, some of whom have also played pivotal roles in keeping Londoners safe during COVID-19:

Major Jay Hancock, 1st Hussars, Deployed to the Leadership Team of Operation Laser (Response to the COVID-19 Outbreaks in Long-Term Care Homes in the Greater Toronto Area).

Charles Knott & Emily Jackson, Founders, Stay Safe & Be Kind Campaign.

Bev Zaifman, Volunteer & Community Leader at Congregation Or Shalom and Jewish London (The London Jewish Community Centre), Board Member - McCormick Care Foundation, Former Board Member - Parkinson’s Foundation.

Lieutenant-Colonel (Retired) John William Pattison Cook, Veterans Advocate, Recipient of the Minister of Veterans Affairs Commendation, Avid Community Volunteer (Examples - City of London, Royal Canadian Legion, Western Fair. Warriors Day Parade, St. John’s Ambulance). 

Cheryl Miller, Community Advocate, Board Member - Youth Opportunities Unlimited, Past President - Rotary Club of London South, Vice President - Forever Legacy Foundation and Former City of London Councillor.

Susan Toth, Lawyer, Professor, Community Advocate and Volunteer, Vice-Chair - London Police Services Board.

Troy Leishman, Grade 11 Student, Manufactured and Donated Face Shields to Local Organizations Dealing with the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Dr. Adam Dukelow, LHSC Chief Medical Officer and Pandemic Incident Management Co-Lead.

Maissae El-Sayegh, Teacher, Community Advocate and Volunteer, Muslim Community Leader.

Leroy Hibbert, Multicultural Outreach Program Coordinator - LUSO Community Services. 

Father Michael Bechard, Interfaith Relations Ambassador, Indigenous Rights and Reconciliation Advocate, Outgoing Pastor - Christ the King University Parish.

Ken Sewchand and Nazih Elmasri, Former Franchisees of Domino’s Pizza (London), Community Volunteers and Philanthropists.

Mario Circelli, Founder and Chair - Forest City London Music Awards.

Constable Evan Harrison, London Police Service Officer, School Resource Officer, Volunteer – Children’s Health Foundation and Minor Hockey Coach, Police Services Hero of the Year Award Winner.

Karen Perkin, St. Joseph’s Health Care - Chief Nurse Executive and Incident Manager of Emergency Operations. 

Dan Flaherty, Middlesex-London Health Unit - Manager, Communications, Board Member Sanctuary London, Volunteer.

Yola Ventresca, Lawyer, Adjunct Professor, Community Volunteer and Board Member, Former Chair - Handbags for Hospice, Best Lawyers in Canada Designation (2020-2021), Lexpert Rising Star Legal Designation (2017), Top 20 Under 40 Award (2016).

The London North Centre Honour Roll is an initiative launched by MP Fragiskatos in March 2017 with the objective to identify individuals whose actions inspire us all to build a stronger, more supportive and inclusive community. For the fourth consecutive year the response from Londoners to the call for nominations was overwhelming. The volunteer selection committee completed a comprehensive review of all nominations received this summer.


“Over the past four years it has been my distinct privilege to honour nearly 70 Londoners who have gone above and beyond in our community. The aim of this honour roll is to continue ensuring those working tirelessly to improve the lives of others are recognized. This year’s nominations were received for a wide variety of individuals, many of whom have helped fellow Londoners during the COVID-19 pandemic. I would like to personally thank each honouree for putting the interests of fellow citizens first and always striving to make London North Centre a better place to live.”

- Peter Fragiskatos, Member of Parliament, London North Centre

Quick Facts

Associated Links

Website – Peter Fragiskatos, MP, London North Centre 


Ryan Gauss

Director of Operations & Personnel
Office of Peter Fragiskatos, M.P., London North Centre

Cell: (613) 698-9791

[email protected]


Constituency Office (Main)
231 Hyman Street
London, Ontario
N6A 1N6


Show Map
Office Hours
Mon: 9:00AM-5:00PM
Tue: 9:00AM-5:00PM
Wed: 9:00AM-5:00PM
Thu: 9:00AM-5:00PM
Fri: 9:00AM-5:00PM
Sat: Closed
Sun: Closed

Parliament Hill Office
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A6


Show Map